Notice of 2023 Annual Membership Meeting, Board of Directors & Young Lawyers Section Board Elections

2023 AnnualThe ADLA Nominating Committee and Young Lawyers Section Nominating Committee are now seeking nominations for the following positions, which will be voted on at the Membership Business Meeting held in conjunction with the 2023 Annual Meeting on Saturday, June 17th at the Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort in Miramar Beach, Florida.

All nominations should briefly describe how the nominee can positively contribute to the organization’s future. If applicable, include the nominee’s previous ADLA activities and services.  Past involvement in ADLA is preferred but not required. Members who submit a nomination and those nominated must be current on their 2023-2024 membership dues.  Send nominations to; the deadline is Monday, May 15th.   Feel free to contact members of the nominating committee if you have any questions about the 2023 Annual Meeting.



ADLA Board of Directors
2023-2024 Officer; Secretary-Treasurer

Term expiring for Megan McCarthy, Ball Ball Matthews & Novak PA, Montgomery

2023-2026 District Directors 
(Terms Set to Expire in June):

District 1: Bree Wilbourn of Grace Matthews & Debro LLC, Huntsville

District 2: W. M. Bains Fleming of Norman Wood Kendrick & Turner, Birmingham

District 3: William L. Lee of Lee Livingston Nichols & Barron PC, Dothan

District 4: Benjamin C. Heinz of Ball Ball Matthews & Novak PA, Mobile

2023 Board of Directors Nominating Committee

Evans Bailey; Rushton Stakely-

Bains Fleming; Norman Wood Kendrick & Turner-

Ben Heinz; Ball Ball Matthews & Novak PA-

Melissa Hunter; Galloway, Wettermark and Rutens  LLP-

Hal Mooty; Bradley-

Will Lee; Lee, Livingston, Lee, Nichols & Barron PC-

Andy Rutens; Galloway, Wettermark and Rutens LLP-


 Young Lawyers Section Board of Directors
2023-2024 2nd Vice-Chair

Term expiring for Andrew Townsley, Lanier Ford Shaver & Payne PC, Huntsville

2023 YLS Board of Directors Nominating Committee

Jonathan Hooks; Weinberg Wheeler Hudgins Gunn & Dial-

Ashley Scarpetta; ProAssurance-

Hannah Stokes; Carr Allison-

Stephen Still; Starnes Davis Florie-

Andrew Townsley; Lanier Ford Shaver & Payne-

Previous Article

This year, in committing to ADLA, 900 members strengthened the foundation of the association and became part of the groundwork for our future members to continue advancing and innovating the practice of civil defense litigation. Join or Renew